The size of the district as well as its proximity to the county town makes it a splash of both modern and rural, meaning it has an urbanized area as well as some nature reserves and untouched country sceneries.
Moreover, it is a fast growing district since the place is offers low cost housing as well as peace in all area, with crimes rates at a low level.
For those who are interested of a place where history and nature collides, with a fair amount of urbanization, this district is definitely a must for vacations and travels.
Cranwell Aviation Heritage Center
The Cranwell Aviation Heritage Center is a historic airfield located near the Royal Air force College in Cranwell, the first military air academy in the world. It acts as both a tourist information area as well as a display centre for 2 jet trainers.
According to history, the county of Lincolnshire was considered as the home of the Royal Air Force. It has vast aviation history since the start of the 20th century. On 1915, The Royal Naval Air Services (RNAS) wanted to form a single unit to fly aeroplanes. On April of the year 1918, the Cranwell was transferred to the hands of the RAF.
During the Great War, RAF Cranwell was building an approximate number of 5000 aircrafts in its factories. By the end of it all, the number of military areoplanes rose to more than 35 in number. Moreover, during the World War II, Lincolnshire was the base for Bomber Commands.
As of the present, the Heritage Center guides us through history using artifacts and other exhibits such as photographs and posters. It has amenities such as a video theatre, several shops, some refreshments, and a courtyard display with a Jet Provost. The center also allows for interaction that will ensure both learning and fun.
Furthermore, the center also has free parking lots, toilets, and souvenir shops, where one can buy and get some books, gifts, and memorabilia.
The Navigation House is an impressive, newly refurbished, and original canal company office located at the heart of Sleaford. It can be found standing on an old public wharf known as the Navigation Yard.
The said house is listed as a Grade II building built in the year 1838. It mainly includes exhibits, film footages, and a few history of navigation as well as that of River Slea.
According to history, during the time of the boost of trade through water transports, the council spearheaded a construction of the Slea Navigation which linked the River Slea to the River Witham. It increased Sleaford’s significance since the construction has helped increase the demand for trade.
On the 1830s, a warehouse and a one story building were developed as a navigation house. However, through the years, the house fell into ruins. It was then restored by the North Kesteven District council.
As of today, the house is a remainder and a reminder of the trade of the past days. The Navigation House is also thought to be the only original canal office which still exists in the country.
As you walk through the pleasant paths along the bank, one can find the Cogglesford Mill.
The Cogglesford Mill is a Grade II listed watermill, which lies by the picturesque bank of the River Slea. It is possibly the last working watermill and the last working Sheriff’s Mill in the county.
History and archaeological evidence suggest that the site once had a Saxon Mill. The existence of such a mill was recorded on the Domesday Book of 1086.
However, at the present, the mill is simply a structure of three stories high and is made up of redbrick. It has an internal water wheel and two sets of millstones. It also has a Mill Shop where local products such as jams, curds, honey, and the mill’s own organic stoneground flour, are sold.
The mill is open to the public.
Cogglesford Mill Cottage
Found next door to the mill, the Cogglesford Mill Cottage is housed on a delightful and historic building. The cottages were derelict before it was renovated in 1990.
After renovation, a friendly and relaxing restaurant was born. It boasts of its low-ceilinged yet quaint rooms which is heaven when paired up with simply delicious cuisine.
The place also has a coffee lounge and a deck, which is somewhat a dream venue for sitting by the river. Rooms are available for various functions and occasion, which may require quiet an amount of space as well as good food.
Welbourn Forge is a historic site. In 1864, it was a forge and blacksmith’s workshop. It has been in service for a 100 years, which lasted until the last blacksmith, Mr. Edwin Wilkinson, retired due to ill health.
Though this may be, all tools and equipment remained as is. So, in 1987, the district council purchased the place and made it into a rural heritage site. It was also repaired and restocked.
As of today, the Forge is well visited as it is a place for exhibitions of old memorabilia and restored earth privy. Every first Saturday of the month, the forge is fired and people come to see, learn, and buy things.
It is now attended by some kind-hearted volunteers.
Mrs. Smith’s Cottage Museum
Mrs. Smith’s Cottage Museum is a preserved example of Victorian architecture on a Lincolnshire cottage. It is named after its last resident, who lived there until 1995. Both the building and the contents were preserved and was made an official museum.
It gives people a glimpse of life in the bygone days, a life in the 20th century rural place, wherein there are things such as an old black range, a single cold water tap, some period furniture, a washhouse, and several ladders.
As it is a museum, there is also a display of artifacts which originated during the life and times of Mrs. Smith in the rural village. Moreover, what’s unique and wonderful about the place is that it let one experience a fascinating capsule of village life, which helps us in learning about the past and improving for the future.
National Center for Craft and Design
The National Center for Craft and Design is an arts center, which sits at the heart of the market town of Sleaford and is set in the middle of a beautiful riverside setting. It is considered as the largest venue in England, which is entirely dedicated to the exhibition, celebration, and promotion of contemporary and international craft and design.
The center boasts of five exciting gallery spaces, which has its own seasonal programme of dynamic exhibitions.
The center also has a shop which sells some memorable and invaluable inspirational collection of contemporary craft and design products.
The center not only boasts of art in crafts, it also boasts of superb culinary arts made available by their very own café. This café is a popular haven for those who seek creative respite as well as delicious food which ranges from home-made soup to sumptuous variety of cakes.
Doddington Hall is a Grade I listed Elizabethan Mansion, complete with walled courtyards and gabled gatehouses.
According to history, the hall was built between 1593 and 1600, when it was built for Thomas Tailor, the registrar to the Bishop of Lincoln. Before that, the 12th century manor was owned by another and was sold to Tailor in 1593. It was passed on to his descendants for several generations.
The hall was restored during the 20th century, wherein textile, ceramics, porcelain, furniture, and several pictures reveal 400 years of unbroken family occupation. Moreover, with all its glory and splendor, is rivaled by the 6 acres area of walled and wild flowers.
Found in the Holly Room of the Hall are rare tapestries, showing country scenes, from the year 1962, which was order to be put in by Sir John Hussey Delaval. Examination reveals that the said tapestries were made in Flanders during the 17th century.
Glorified by the same splendor and magnificence as did the hall, the gardens of Doddington hall is spectacular with its mellow walls and framework. The Garden is composed of the East Front, the West Garden, and beyond these two, is the wild Gardens.
The gardens were restored, nurtured and card for by several people. The East Front is splendid with tis four topiary unicorns while the West Garden is elegant, with its botanical surprises and riot of colors. Lastly, there is the Wild Gardens, with a spectacular pageant of bulbs, a meandering path, a Temple of the Winds, a naute trail, a turf maze, and a ‘Dinosaur Egg’.
The hall also has a café, a restaurant, and an interior store.
After travelling and relaxing in these beautiful sites, try out one of the Top 3 Restaurants in the district of North Kesteven, namely: the said Cogglesford Mill, The Barge and Bottle, and the Curio Café at Money’s Mill